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September 19-25, 2021 is Child Passenger Safety Week

Child Passenger Safety Week is September 19-25, 2021 and focuses on educating
parents and caregivers about the importance of choosing, installing, and using
the correct car seat. As part of Child Passenger Safety Week, the Huntington
Beach Police Department wants to make sure your child is in the right child safety
seat.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), vehicle
crashes are the leading cause of death among children, and nearly half of car
seats (46%) are not being used properly.

California law requires a child to be properly secured in a safety seat until they
are at least 8 years of age. Children 8 and older, who are at least 4 feet, 9 inches
in height, may ride in the back seat of a vehicle in a properly fitted safety
belt. Children under the age of 2 must ride rear-facing or until they reach 40
pounds or 40 inches in height.

To find car seat programs in your area, the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS)
has provided resources on the OTS website. You may also contact your local CHP
Area Office to schedule a free child safety seat inspection.

Funding for this program is provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic
Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
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